Being a Kiwi-Indian

Here’s a short piece I wrote for Indian Weekender in May 2013

To me being a Kiwi-Indian is a privilege as I can associate myself to two different cultures. I feel like I have two homes in the world, the country I was born in and the country I have grown up in. Both countries are worlds apart, and I think that is what makes it such a privilege as  I personally have learnt so much from both cultures. The deep cultural, rich traditional and family values from India, as well as the carefree, live-life-to-the-fullest attitude from New Zealand. I love that I will always have two beautiful countries I can always call home, a privilege not granted to many.

Leave a Reply

