Diary Update 2: “You are standing halfway down Dominion Road”

I haven’t posted on here for a while now, but I have been doing some research on my street.

To begin with, naturally I took help of Google, which led me to a number of different websites that had extensive information on my chosen street, including one being completely dedicated to the street http://www.dominionrd.co.nz/about/history/.

What I also came across was an interesting news article about a ‘mysterious’ plaque that has been set into the sidewalk on Dominion Road. This plaque appeared early this year to coincide with the Auckland Arts Festival. The person behind the appearance of this plaque has chosen to be anonymous. The plaque appears to quote a line from a song by the Mutton Birds called well..Dominion Road; “You are standing halfway down Dominion Road”. The existence of this song was another thing that amazed me.

Anyhow, I look forward to visiting the site of the plaque and will update with a post presenting a photo of it.

Leave a Reply

